The deadline to get health insurance during California’s Open Enrollment Period is almost here. January 31, 2021, is the last day for your clients to enroll for the exchange without qualifying events. Please remind your clients about some important changes that went into effect in California in 2020 that might help uninsured individuals get coverage:
- Individual mandate: There is a penalty for going without health insurance! Starting in 2020, Californians that go without health insurance for more than 3 months will have to pay a fine. Households that do not have insurance this year will either pay whichever penalty is greater: $695 per adult and $347.50 per child under 18, or 2.5% of the annual household income.
- Expanded eligibility: California now offers extra financial assistance to middle-income enrollees who make between $50,000 – $75,000 a year individually or between $103,000 and $154,500 for a family of four. People who haven’t qualified for savings in the past might be eligible for subsidies this year.
- Medi-Cal expansion: Undocumented adults 25 and under are now eligible for coverage.
Don’t have your clients wait till it’s too late!
For more information, contact Nathan Lacroix (email: email@example.com).